A Yogi’s Diary #2

A Yogi's Diary

by | Jun 10, 2020

‘Ghathasta Yogam Yogésha Tattva Jnanasyakaranam’

                                                                        —-(G S.Ch1, V-2)

Ghathasta Yoga is the means towards Self Realization


In our Yogi’s Diary #1, we had talked about BODY+MIND complex as being like a Ghatta (Pot) which houses the Inner Spirit. In this diary, let us take a deeper look at the Kriyas – the precursor to Asana practice.

Once, a King by the name of Chandakapali asked Mahamuni Gheranda four questions:

– What is Self Realization?

– What is Ghathastha Yoga ?

– How and who can practice this?

– Is it possible to attain Aatma Jnana (Self knowledge) through Yoga?

The book Gherand Samhita, also known as Saptanga Yoga, answers the above questions in 7 Chapters.

Attainment of Aatma Jnana(Self Knowledge) is to understand the balance between material life and spiritual life. The first step is to focus on ones physical body. The body is the grossest and the most perceivable instrument that transacts with the universe. It is essential to learn about its physical constitution and about the subtle energies that build and sustain this body.

The manifestation of impurities in the body is the root cause of ill-health. Lifestyle changes leading to irregular food habits, unhealthy diets are some of the primary reasons. Apart from this, stress, unhappiness, proliferation of undesired thoughts and worries are also trigger factors causing ill health. This  leads to significant changes in the physical and physiological functioning of the body. Therefore, the initiation of Yogic disciplines has to begin with a process of detox/purification practice (ShóDhanam) for the mind to become stress free.

This is where Shatkarma (Kriyas) come into play. These are six stages of detox/ purification practices namely – Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Nauli, Trataka and Kapalbhati.

These cleansing process balance:

  1. Energy Channels: Ida(Solar), Pingala(Lunar)

  2. The 5 elements: Vāta(Air), Pitta(Bile), Kapha(mucus)

  3. The 5 Pranas: Prana(breath), Apana(excretory), Samana(Digestive), Vyana(Circulatory), Udana(Rising)

With the advent of technology came in many positive enhancements in our life.As a result, many of us ended up in materialistic pursuits. Subsequently, this pursuit brought with it, an accumulation of impurities that we talked about above.

Undoubtedly, these initiations into KRIYAS are important for a seeker who has chosen to take the first steps into addressing these imbalances and become free of stress. Thereby, he begins his journey towards Aatma Jnana through various other disciplines of YOGA, which we shall be further discussing.

Traditionally, a person is equipped to teach only after receiving guidance from an ‘Acharya’ or teacher.  After gaining a thorough understanding of Body types and its response to the cleansing techniques.It is essential that these instructions are taught carefully and personally.

-Lalitha Viswanath


  1. Debbie

    Thank you so much Lalitha for doing this. Also gigantic thank you for going online, the girls are brilliant and doing yoga at home with them is one of the most positive outcomes of lock down.We hope to eventually get to Spain and are delighted that because of online our practice can continue.
    I’m sure you’ve realised that it can be continued anywhere. X x xl

    • Lalitha

      Dear Debbiji,

      It’s so rewarding and encouraging to receive such a beautiful message from you.We feel truly honored to have your entire family as a part of Pratimoksha.Our heartfelt gratitude to you. We wish you all the very best and pray for your good health, peace and prosperity.
      Love and Prayers


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *